Variationen in Tempo und Textur


  • for orchestra
    2 flutes (2nd piccolo)
    2 oboes (2nd English Horn)
    2 clarinets (2nd bass clarinet)
    2 bassoons
    2 horns
    2 trumpets
    1 percussionist
    6 violins I
    4 violins II
    3 violas
    3 violoncelli
    2 double basses
  • duration c. 13 min.
  • commissioned by Kymi Sinfonietta
  • published by:
    Theophilius Productions
  • PDF 1st page)



The first 67 measures of the piece are the raw material which means that later on it is used for variations in Stretto (ital. narrow, tight). This introductory part lasts for about four minutes which is nearly a third of the whole piece and actually consists of two parts: dense and cascading chords are followed by a part which is dominated by percussion and bending tones. What comes next is a permanent repetition of this raw material.

The basic idea of all variations is a change in tempo. This means that the music in irregular intervals, regardless of the repetitions, abruptly becomes much faster – or sometimes slower. The music which initially lasts one minute finally shrinks to two seconds.

With increasing tempo details which can't be played so fast get inevitably lost and the texture changes. Because of this loss of information new ideas can be put in in those few parts in which the music gets slower and consequently less tight. According to evolutionary principles those details which were eliminated once do not exist anymore.

Joachim F.W. Schneider


Music nipped by the frost

The strings crackle, the percussions rattle, the winds play long, icy notes (...) The new work composed by German Joachim F.W. Schneider for the Kymi Sinfonietta is like a description of the frozen north.

But all of a sudden, amid the cold, a swinging drum comp bursts in (...)

read more ...

Ari Helander (KOUVOLAN SANOMAT, 6. Februar 2010)


Stage Presence and Orchestral Colours


The chain of live composers was given a follow-up as the winner of the II International Uuno Klami Composition Competition - Joachim F.W. Schneider - and one of the leading Finnish composers - Kalevi Aho - were sitting among the concert audience. (...)

read more ...

Reijo Paavola (KYMEN SANOMAT, 5. Februar 2010)


We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by